About Us

Our Story

The seeds of Kids’ Chance of Montana were planted in 1988 when Robert Clyatt, a worker’s compensation attorney in Georgia, resolved to help provide kids a chance to pursue their educational dreams after their parents were severely or fatally injured in the workplace.

The successful early beginning of Kids’ Chance of America set the stage for other states to start Kids' Chance organizations. Numerous states joined together to form Kids’ Chance of America in 2007, with a goal to have a chapter in every state. Kids’ Chance of America achieved its aim of a Kids’ Chance scholarship organization in every state in 2022.

Kids’ Chance of Montana grew from these strong roots and formed as an IRS Approved 501(c)(3) in 2017. Our mission is to provide education assistance / scholarships to children of Montana workers who have been severely injured or killed on the job. Since 2017, Kids’ Chance of Montana has awarded 24 scholarships totaling over $143,000 to pay tuition, fees and other necessary costs on behalf of our students to attend colleges, technical schools, or vocational training of their choice.

Kids’ Chance of Montana is governed by an all-Montana, all-volunteer Board of Directors and 100% of our Montana donations go directly to student support.  Please see our most recent Annual Report at the bottom of this page.

Kids' Chance of Montana

Our Mission

Kids’ Chance of Montana is proud to be an affiliate of Kids’ Chance of America. For more information about the national program, visit Kids’ Chance of America.

Meet Our Board of Directors


Nelly Nicol

Address: 210 S. Winchester Miles City, MT 59301

Phone: (406) 234-2585

Email: BigSkyNel@hotmail.com

Dalpiaz Law

Leslae Dalpiaz

Address: P.O. Box 8291, Missoula, MT 59807

Phone: (406) 549-9200

Email: ldalpiaz@dalpiazlaw.com

Montana Contractor Compensation Fund

Vicki Evans

Address: P.O. Box 1748, Great Falls, MT 59401

Phone: (406) 453-8522

Email: vevans@mccfmt.org

Montana State Fund

Ethan Heverly

Address: 855 Front Street, P.O. Box 4759 Helena, MT 59601

Phone: (406)-495-5426

Email: eheverly@safemt.gov

Executive Secretary Montana State AFL-CIO

JAmes Holbrook

Address: 810 Hialeah St, Helena, MT 59601

Phone: (406) 442-1708

Email: jholbrook@mtaflcio.org

Midland Claims Service inc.
industrial injury claims®

Michael  J. Marsh

Address: P.O. Box 20151 Billings, MT 59104

Phone: (406) 656-9960

Email: mmarsh@midlandclaims.com

Northwestern Energy

Charlie Smith

Address: 1315 North Last Chance

Helena, MT 59694

Phone: (406) 443-8990 

Email: Charles.smith@northwestern.com

Department of Labor & Industry

Peter Van Nice

Address: 1368 Beaverhead Rd.

Helena, MT 59602

Phone: (406) 444-0556

Email: PVanNice@mt.gov

Montana University System

Leah Tietz

Address: 560 N. Park Avenue Helena, MT 59601

Phone: (406) 449-9156

Email: ltietz@montana.edu

Labor & Industry

Jessica Jones

Address:  301 S. Park, 5th Floor, Helena, MT 59601

Phone:  (406) 444-9017

Email: Jessica.jones@mt.gov

Board members at the 2021 Annual Meeting.

Left to right: Michael Marsh, Leslae Dalpiaz, Vicki Evans, Leah Tietz, Nelly Nicol, and Peter Van Nice. Not in the picture: Ethan Heverly and Charlie Smith.


Annual Report - 2022

June 19, 2023